« Archives in December, 2011

Christmas in Europe after the Rain

Streams of Europe’s complete discography is now available for download in MP3, at 320kb/s, for free.

All albums are released under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Here is the full list in chronological order:





Damaged Memory Strata



The Many Lives of a Clone










And if some related wallpapers sound appealing to you, feel free to download this:


New website (again)

We don’t really care about Christmas.

However, since Streams of Europe’s latest album, Degenesis, is finally complete, we thought it would be nice to make everything available for download in the same place.

During the last few years, we’ve tried a lot of music distribution networks. All of them were interesting in their own way. All of them also had their own limitations.

  • Soundcloud is awesome, but  expensive, especially for long tracks. And ambient music means long tracks.
  • Bandcamp is great too, but lacks customization and community features. While it allows very long tracks, it’s still not enough for one-hour-long works.
  • Jamendo keep spamming you about selling your music, and the random friend requests are sort of annoying.
  • The 61 is a nice place, but it’s not really adapted for experimental and ambient music.
  • MySpace is dead (and that’s a relief).
  • Last FM is where the adventure started. You’ll find awesome people here, but it’s still more a radio than a distribution network.
  • Facebook is, well, Facebook. A soulless place made to suck your soul.
  • Google+, iLike, Bebo, ReverbNation, PureVolume… We don’t care enough to check if they still exist.
  • Diaspora holds a special place in our hearts. Our most web-addicted member, lectronice, even participated to #diasporanoise2011. But Diaspora isn’t a music distribution network.

The truth is, there are simply too many places to upload and promote music, and not enough time. We want to stop wasting time on various networks, and focus on what Streams of Europe is about.

Hence this new website. You can already listen to everything in your browser. Try the top right menu on the Streams of Europe page, or hit play in the albums category for a full playlist.

You may also enjoy some minimal wallpapers, available for download in Art of The Rain.

The Christmas gift, which may or may not be available on Christmas, will consist in Streams of Europe’s complete discography encoded in 320kb/s.


The Rain

And finally fell the mighty Rain, drowning all living things, melting mountains, and changing streams into oceans. Then, for millenia, the world stayed clean and pure, devoid of humanoid presence.
Drowned Mountains

This is about a perfect landscape, where the horizon is only defined by the sky and the sea. Decades after the Rain, the world is nothing but an endless plane of tainted water. Sunken secrets, forgotten places and long dead beings are quietly resting in the fathomless depths.
Naked Shorelines

Centuries gave birth to new lands, shaped with the mighty acts of nature. No sentient being lives to tell the brutal beauty of theses primal landscapes yet. But soon, some will awake, and the Loop will play again.

Degenesis is the result of several live improvisation sessions from 2009 to 2011. Based upon drones simultaneously recorded while played looped over themselves, theses tracks go beyond the usual boundaries of Streams of Europe’s music. The album aims to epic, dantesque aesthetics, and describes the first half of the six ages that shaped Europe after the Rain.




Creative Commons License
Degenesis by Streams of Europe is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.europeaftertherain.com.